

STRENGTHENING THE PARTNERSHIP BETWEEN ACADEMIA AND PRACTICE TO ADVANCE EDUCATION, WORKFORCE, AND HEALTH EQUITY

he Live Well Center for Innovation & Leadership (LWCIL) represents the bold and innovative vision of the County of San Diego Health and Human Services Agency (HHSA), San Diego State University (SDSU), and SDSU's College of Health and Human Services (CHHS) to create a sustainable and high-impact Academic Health and Human Services Department (AHHSD) for San Diego County. LWCIL's development is informed by a national Academic Health Department (AHD) model which has demonstrated that strong, sustainable partnerships between academia and practice can improve education, research, workforce development, and service. Together, we are contributing to a healthy, equitable, safe and thriving San Diego region.





LWCIL STRUCTURE

Steering Committee

Co-chaired by Dr. Kimberly Giardina, HHSA Deputy CAO and Dr. Amy Bonomi, CHHS Dean HHSA Department Directors & CHHS School + Center Directors

People Success

Co-chaired by Jennifer Bransford-Koons, Director, Aging & ndependence and Dr. Jong Won Min, Director and Professor, School of Social Work

Research & Data Excellence

Co-chaired by Dr. Ankita Kadakia, Interim Public Health Officer and Dr. Corinne McDaniels-Davidson, Directo Institute of Public Health, Associate Director School of Public Health

Service to Community

Co-chaired by David Estrella, Director Housing & Community Development Services and Dr. Mounah Abdel-Samad, Associate Professor, School of Public Affairs

Collaboration | Community | Equity Excellence | Results

Strategic Roadmap Framework



OUR PRIORITIES

PEOPLE SUCCESS

Build a diverse, competent, and engaged health and human services workforce.

RESEARCH AND DATA EXCELLENCE

Inform and improve academia, policy, and practice with rigorous and relevant research.

SERVICE TO COMMUNITY

Integrate academia, practice, and community to advance equity and eliminate health disparities.

LEADERSHIP AND SUSTAINABILITY

Create a nationally recognized academicpractice model with innovative leadership committed to improving academia, policy, and practice.





LIVE WELL CENTER FOR INNOVATION & LEADERSHIP

STEERING COMMITTEE

Amy Bonomi (Co-Chair) Dean College of Health & Human Services

Kimberly Giardina (Co-Chair) Deputy Chief Administrative Officer County of San Diego Health & Human Services Agency

SAN DIEGO STATE UNIVERISTY

Tracy Finlayson

Professor, School of Public Health College of Health & Human Services

Steve Hornberger

Director, Social Policy Institute
Co-Director, Center for Excellence in Aging
& Independence
College of Health & Human Services

Funah Hoh

Interim Co-Director and Professor, School of Public Health College of Health & Human Services

Karen Macauley

Director and Professor, School of Nursing College of Health & Human Services

Matthew Mahar

Director and Professor, School of Exercise & Nutritional Sciences
College of Health & Human Services

Corinne McDaniels-Davidson

Director, Institute for Public Health Associate Director and Associate Professor School of Public Health College of Health & Human Services

Jong Won Min

Director and Professor, School of Social Work College of Health & Human Services

Ignatius Nip

Director and Professor, School of Speech, Language & Hearing Sciences College of Health & Human Services

Mitchell Rauh

Director and Professor, School of Public Therapy College of Health & Human Services

Emily Schmied

Interim Co-Director and Associate Professor, School of Public Health College of Health & Human Services

Jennifer Tucker-Tatlow

Executive Director
Academy for Professional Excellence

COUNTY OF SAN DIEGO HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES AGENCY

Jamie Beam

Director Medical Care Services

Jennifer Bransford-Koons

Director

Aging & Independence Services

Beverly Connolly

Director

Human Resources

Patty Kay Danon

Chief Operations Officer County Administrative Office

David Estrella

Director

Housing and Community Development Services

Alfredo Guardado

Director

Child and Family Well-Being Department

Elizabeth Hernandez

Director

Public Health Services

Ankita Kadakia

Interim Health Officer Public Health Services

Angela Mitchell

Chief Nursing Officer
Office of Nursing Excellence

Nadia Privara Brahms

Acting Director Behavioral Health Services

Carey Riccitelli

Director
Department of Strategy and Community
Engagement

Richard Wanne

Director

Self-Sufficiency Services



